Nicholas Smedira · complex HCM surgery · Decision guide

Nicholas Smedira at Cleveland Clinic: HCM myectomy, care and cost

Specialist HCM imaging and myectomy that can also correct mitral-leaflet or papillary-muscle causes of obstruction.

Research by Yevhenii Kozlov · Co-Founder of BookimedUpdated 8 October 2026Sources linked throughout

At a glance

Nicholas Smedira is a current myectomy surgeon at Cleveland Clinic’s specialist HCM centre. The programme combines detailed imaging, anatomy-directed surgery and continuing HCM care. Its published surgical experience includes operations that correct the mitral valve and supporting structures as well as the septum. Price is individualized.

More than muscle removal

The plan can address an elongated mitral leaflet or abnormal papillary muscles when these contribute to obstruction.

Sources: Surgical management of left ventricular outflow tract obstruction in a specialized hypertrophic obstructive cardiomyopathy center. · Desai and Smedira: diagnostic and surgical decision-making

A defined assessment pathway

A diagnostic visit without scheduled treatment generally involves 1–2 days in Cleveland, depending on testing.

Sources: HCM Center appointment and care pathway

Historical surgical evidence

The published series included 1,559 LVOT operations in 2005–2015, of which 1,530 involved myectomy.

Sources: Surgical management of left ventricular outflow tract obstruction in a specialized hypertrophic obstructive cardiomyopathy center.

Reported surgical experience

201 septal myectomies

Programme operations · Calendar year 2024 · published 2025-08-27 · counting date 2024-12-31

Programme total across septal approaches, including operations with associated procedures.

Cleveland Clinic 2024 HOCM data highlights ↗ · source read 2026-10-08
2,000+ septal myectomies

Personal participation · Cumulative participation; myectomy-specific start and cutoff not stated

The institutional profile attributes participation in septal myectomies to Smedira; it does not allocate all cases to him as sole operator.

Dr. Nicholas Smedira, MD – Cleveland, OH – Cardiac Surgery – Request Appointment ↗ · source read 2026-10-08
3,500+ septal myectomies

Programme operations · 2002–2021; exact boundary dates not specified

Cleveland programme experience across 2002–2021, described by Milind Desai in an official clinical discussion. It is separate from Smedira’s personal participation count.

Surgical Myectomy for Hypertrophic Cardiomyopathy ↗ · source read 2026-10-08
Miller Family Pavilion and autumn trees at Cleveland Clinic’s main campus.
Miller Family Pavilion at Cleveland Clinic’s main campus, home to the Heart, Vascular & Thoracic Institute. · Photo source

Cleveland, United States

Primarily transaortic septal myectomy, with mitral or subvalvular correction when the anatomy calls for it

Quote on request

Individual estimate after assessment.

Request an HCM assessment and quote

Cleveland Clinic lists Nicholas Smedira as a myectomy surgeon in its specialist HCM centre.

Request an HCM assessment and quote

Named team · complete quote · recovery plan

Who this programme may suit

Symptomatic obstructive HCM despite appropriate medical treatment, including patients whose mitral leaflets or papillary muscles contribute to restricted outflow. These anatomical findings can make surgery more comprehensive than isolated septal reduction.

  • The visit includes clinical intake, HCM cardiology and specialist echocardiography; MRI, CT or other tests add information when clinically indicated.
  • Imaging distinguishes septal obstruction from mitral-leaflet and papillary-muscle contributions. Treatment history and overall risk determine whether surgery, medication or another septal-reduction option fits.

Sources: HCM Center appointment and care pathway · Desai and Smedira: diagnostic and surgical decision-making · 2024 AHA/ACC multisociety HCM guideline key points

Benefits and trade-offs

Potential advantages

Trade-offs and limits

Price and included care

Quote on request

Pricing follows the proposed operation and required care. The inspected programme sources publish no standard package total or hotel, interpreter and companion allowance.

The centre describes HCM cardiology, specialist imaging, surgical assessment, inpatient recovery and individualized follow-up. Virtual follow-up is an available option. No standard international package price is published.

Care / cost itemPublished care and cost scope
AssessmentHCM cardiology and specialist imaging are described. A diagnostic visit without treatment generally takes 1–2 days locally; the testing plan determines the duration.
SurgerySeptal myectomy with mitral or papillary correction when required. There is no published standard cash package for a fixed operative scope.
Hospital careAnaesthesia, ICU monitoring and ward recovery form the pathway. Charges and allowances are individualized.
Follow-upFollow-up is individualized, with a virtual option. Rehabilitation and further imaging depend on recovery and clinical findings.
Travel servicesThe clinical sources do not define included hotel nights, transfers, interpreter services or companion costs.
Request an HCM assessment and quote

Your route from assessment to follow-up

  1. Record and imaging reviewThe centre reviews the medical history and original imaging before or as part of the diagnostic visit.

    Sources: HCM Center appointment and care pathway

  2. Specialist assessmentHCM cardiology and imaging establish the obstruction and treatment options. Diagnostic assessment alone typically requires 1–2 days locally.

    Sources: HCM Center appointment and care pathway

  3. Myectomy and any associated correctionThe operation removes obstructing septal muscle and addresses relevant mitral or papillary abnormalities.

    Sources: Surgical management of left ventricular outflow tract obstruction in a specialized hypertrophic obstructive cardiomyopathy center.

  4. Recovery and follow-upICU and ward monitoring lead to discharge and continuing HCM care. Virtual follow-up can be available.

    Sources: Septal myectomy patient information · HCM Center appointment and care pathway

What the research tells you

Anatomy-directed surgery in 1,559 operations

The 2005–2015 series included 1,530 operations with myectomy. In 522, myectomy was combined with mitral or subvalvular intervention. Reported operative mortality was 0.38%.

Historical selected centre population; the abstract does not name its single operator. These are not a stated personal outcome rate for Smedira or a direct comparison with Cui.

Sources: Surgical management of left ventricular outflow tract obstruction in a specialized hypertrophic obstructive cardiomyopathy center.

Recovery: walking, healing and returning home

Cleveland Clinic’s myectomy information describes ICU care immediately after surgery, assisted walking after about 48 hours and fewer than five inpatient days for most patients. The standard operation divides the breastbone. Discharge does not mark complete chest healing or readiness for international travel; activity restrictions depend on the operation and recovery.

Sources: Septal myectomy patient information · Liverpool Heart and Chest Hospital: recovery guide

Compare other programmes for this condition

Illuminated Zhejiang Provincial People’s Hospital building at its Zhaohui campus in Hangzhou.Yong Cui — official portrait

Hangzhou, China

Yong Cui · HCM surgery

Yong Cui
Zhejiang Provincial People’s Hospital

A 4–5 cm underarm incision keeps the breastbone intact: no divided breastbone to heal while you rebuild walking and everyday activity.

$25,000–40,000 estimated cost

USD · estimated programme range · updated 8 October 2026.

Published 100-patient MESM series; separate 132-patient mid-cavity conference report and earlier 148-patient modified-Morrow study.

Lobby of Tisch Hospital at NYU Langone HealthDaniel G. Swistel — official portrait

New York, United States

NYU HCM team · anatomy and access choices

Daniel Swistel · Joshua Scheinerman
NYU Langone Hypertrophic Cardiomyopathy Program

An HCM team that treats septal and mitral causes of obstruction, with conventional and selected robotic surgical approaches.

Quote on request

Individual estimate after assessment.

NYU reports more than 600 myectomies at programme level. Supporting method evidence includes a historical 77-patient anatomy study and a separate first robotic case report.

Continue your guide

Related heart surgery guides

Turn information into your next step.

Free Bookimed support. Compare options before deciding.

Request an HCM assessment and quote
Request an HCM assessment and quote

Named team · complete quote · recovery plan